Where’s My Mojo?

There was never a better time in my near-20 year life than when I was 13. Everything was great. I was young. Didn’t have to worry about a damn thing. My family and I would travel often. We visited places like Detroit, Atlanta, and even Toronto. The best AND worst part about it: the van. Who knew the best part about the trip would be a 2003 Chrysler Town and Country?

My family and I nearly lived on the interstate when we traveled. I-75. The drive to Detroit totaled 17+ hours. It’s like taking a plane trip to the other side of the world (which I have done) but being allowed pit stops. One thing that’s better than planes, though, is that we got to choose the movies. Shrek (2001) was a good movie. We also played A Kid in King Arthur’s Court (1995), which was my all-time favorite movie that is about sports.

The whole Austin Powers series is my all-time favorite movie of any category. These movies were probably the most played of all the movies we played. One of the funniest parts is the introductory credits, where the main character Austin Powers walks around a hotel naked for 3 whole minutes. During his naked mile, his private parts were censored the whole time, but in a new way every couple seconds.

 

 

I used to always crack my family up reenacting scenes of Austin Powers. My favorite person to impersonate was Dr. Evil. His trademark was putting his pinky to his mouth, pausing for dramatic effect, and saying something really stupid. This worked out for me because I was exceptionally well at “acting” stupid. One of Dr. Evil’s best lines is when he was frozen and lived to the next century, asking the white house for a million dollars (thinking it was a lot) and got laughed at for the amount being such a small ransom. The ironic part is when he lived in the past he asked the government for a billion dollars and they laughed at him because there wasn’t even a billion dollars in the country.

 

Word count: 348

2 comments

  1. tarlinilife · October 19

    What can I say your blog made me laugh right off the start with the title “Where’s My Mojo” this movie as well was a classic movie my family always watched.

    Like

  2. andrescarrascoblog · October 23

    Your post brought back some good memories! I can definitely relate to the awesome road trips my family used to do when I was younger. I never had a DVD player in the car so I can’t relate to you there, haha. Cool post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

